Good!

Blowback from Apostates of Liberty

A great discussion has been opened by the earlier post regarding the Apostates of Liberty.

One comment that helped to stir the pot was offered by Shadowfox 24 who had this to say in reply:

Perhaps if you’d listened for more than a “blurb” you’d have heard Rush go on to make all your points about these rent-a-mobs, their leaders and the Dem politicians before you did.

Perhaps if you’d listen for more than a “blurb” you’d realize that the ONLY people pushing the birth certificate “ad infinitum/ad nauseum” are Libertarian bloggers. The rest of us moved on the real damage the 2nd openly Communist presidency has been doing long ago.

Perhaps if you listened for more than a “blurb” you’d know that he pushes people to action EVERY SINGLE DAY. What he refuses to do is to do it for you! He’s not going to fund your movements for you. He’s not going to get signatures for your petitions for you. He’s not going to make your phone calls for you and he’s not going to pressure your elected officials for you. Physician heal thyself! aka If you want action then be the action!

I wouldn’t be a conservative and wouldn’t be politically active/aware if not for Rush. He provided the spark in my life and now I provide my own momentum. But if you’ve waiting for Rush to come on air and advocate that elected Dems start being made to dance the ‘Mussolini Shuffle’ then you’re going to be waiting a long damn time, thank God…

My response:

Oooh! I insulted the great Maha-Rushie!

 

Good!

http://cliffsofinsanity2010.blogspot.com/
Then tell him and his 20 million listeners to come onto my site and prove me wrong.  I’ll gladly accept his wrath and that of his audience.  I dare the great one to come out and crush me with the dull edge of his rapier like wit.  Bring it on.  There’s a lot that we agree on, but if Rush or any of his listeners would like to explain to why a plummeting airliner that’s lost power and controls won’t crash into earth, I’m all ears.

As far as me only listening to a blurb, Rush’s suggestion is that you have to listen to his show for about 6 weeks before you really start to get it all into context.  Which means that after 6 weeks, you start hearing themes repeated.  The more you listen, the more you find that you only need a blurb to figure out on your own, the rest of what he’s got to say.  Which is exactly what I did.  Your comment confirms that.  Thanks!

When I started listening to Rush in the summer of 1993, I had to listen for about those 6 weeks before my mind was changed from ignorant to conservative.  This is about the same length of time that it took me in the summer of 2009 reading sites like Western Rifle Shooters and Sipsey Street Irregulars before my mind was changed again from conservative to Liberty minded.

If a 6 week rule is good enough for him, then it’s good enough for me.  If you come to my site, or any of my linked sites and read for about  6 weeks and you’ll get it all in context.  Otherwise, you’ll get the half of the message.  Will you hear some things repeated?  Sure.  After all, who can forget Cliffs rock star, Xochitl Hinojosa?

Conservatism is holding the line.  Conserving.  Holding the line sounded good in 1993.  In 2011, what “line” is there to hold?  The Patriot Act snoops into every corner of our lives.  The TSA molests us at the airport.  Obamacare is passed.  The EPA wants to regulate an element of the periodic table.  QE2 has been committed.  Our borders are a joke and our chosen one sues states to keep it this way.  Freedom requires going on offense.  For some reason, conservatives are unable or unwilling to do this.

In the way of action, I joined others in shouting down Hillary’s healthcare bus.  I stood with about a dozen other people on the side of a busy highway in the cold, pouring rain in February, 2009 as we birthed the Tea Party movement.  I have stood on the sidewalk outside the Federal Reserve in Atlanta with an M-1 Garand.  I have stood up with an AR-15 on my back, within sight of the Capitol Dome, in full view of a hundred cameras, reporters, and probably the Death Star itself and called our government Commiekazis.  In the way of action, many have done and given more than I have.  But I have nothing to apologize for or be ashamed of.

Some of my readers pointed out some things that I should have thought of.  Like how we who stood up at RTC rallies were smeared from the left and ignored by the right.  The silence from the right was worse than anything the left could say or do.  At a time when we really needed friends, we found out that we had few-if any.

I believe in that the time after 4-19-10, I got to feel a little of the burden of Patrick Henry.

 

…[I]t is natural to man to indulge in the illusions of hope. We are apt to shut our eyes against a painful truth, and listen to the song of that siren till she transforms us into beasts. Is this the part of wise men, engaged in a great and arduous struggle for liberty? Are we disposed to be of the numbers of those who, having eyes, see not, and, having ears, hear not, the things which so nearly concern their temporal salvation?

Later, Henry in a thunderous closing that echoes Joshua 24:15 says this:

I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!

Read it all. How amazing the currency of his heart, his thoughts and his words!

Patrick Henry’s speech was not addressed to the crown. It was addressed to the good men around him as a call to cease indulging the illusions of hope, face the truth, and join the battle where it actually is (not where they imagined it to be.)  His speech took place at a time when death seemed a much more likely outcome than liberty.  Standing on this side of history, it’s all too easy for us to take his words and his heart for granted since we know the outcome.
I believe these apostates of liberty that I wrote about are indulging in the illusions of hope.  Some commenters have pointed out that the FCC might yank their licenses if they “went too far.”  Well isn’t that too bad?  How does that compare to what the founders went through?  And say, wouldn’t a yanked license or two prove my point?

“If you people don’t stop this, and now is the time and place, you people wouldn’t make a pimple on a fighting GI’s ass. Get guns.” – Bill White, Athens, Tennessee.  1946

So one more time, how much did our founders have to sacrifice?  How can we be unwilling to repeat the sacrifice of our founding fathers, yet still claim to honor them?  God help us.

Finally, if nothing I’ve written gets through or connects with you, what size boots do you wear?

Leave a Reply

